top of page

Unit 11.2- Progression Routes

Once I had decided on the career I want to pursue I needed to do some research on routes into that discipline. Through my research I found that around 80% of directors have a degree with 29% having gained a film related degree. Because of these figures I decided to focus researching universities. There are essentially two types of degree; the more practical based Film & TV Production degree and the more theoretical Film Studies degree. Both of these options lead into my chosen discipline so I wanted to research what each degree entailed and compare them so that I can make a more informed decision. Through my research on the UCAS and Which? Universities websites, I found 9 courses that I found interesting that were a mix of practical and theoretical degrees. I found that, while Film Studies degrees are more theoretical, many of them also incorporate a number of practical elements. I also discovered that most courses are assessed in more or less the same way, with the majority being coursework led. I also made a note of each course's ranking, according to The Guardian, so as to gain an understanding of which courses will give me the best chances of progressing.


bottom of page